Transit Support Grant

These grants provide funding to support operating and capital expenses of transit agencies in Washington state.

Available funding

WSDOT has around $33.6 million in grant funding for the 2021-2023 biennium, as appropriated in the 2022 supplemental budget. This program is supported by state funding.

Match requirements

No match required.

Eligible applicants

Eligible transit agencies include:

  • City transit systems under RCW 35.58.2721 or Chapter 35.95A RCW.
  • County public transportation authorities under Chapter 36.57 RCW.
  • Metropolitan municipal corporation transit systems under Chapter 36.56 RCW.
  • Public transportation benefit areas under Chapter 36.57A RCW.
  • Unincorporated transportation benefit areas under RCW 36.57.100.
  • Any special purpose districts formed to operate a public transportation system.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for transit support funds, transit agencies must:

  • Adopt and implement a zero-fare policy for people 18 and under by Oct. 1, 2022. Agencies that adopt and implement a zero-fare policy after Oct. 1, 2022 will not receive 2022 supplemental budget funds and will be eligible for funds beginning in the 2025-2027 biennium.
  • Certify annually that the agency has maintained its local sales tax authority for transit at or above Jan. 1, 2022 levels.

Additionally, no agency may receive more than 35 percent of the total grant funding available.

8,683 animals crossed the Snoqualmie Pass East Project area

as recorded by WSDOT and partners in 2020 and 2021.

46% increase in Amtrak Cascades ridership to 251,000 passengers

in 2021 compared to 172,000 in 2020.

Nine wetland and stream mitigation sites across 32.7 acres added

to our monitoring program in 2021 to help offset climate change impacts.