Value engineering

Find tools and templates to identify and eliminate unnecessary costs in project design, construction, operations and maintenance.

When is a Value Engineering workshop required?

WSDOT requires value engineering for structural projects over $40 million and all projects over $50 million. Projects with estimated total costs less than these amounts can apply value engineering to enhance performance of a facility, reduce cost, or as a tool to build consensus by engaging stakeholders.

When is a Value Engineering workshop recommended?

WSDOT encourages a VE analysis on any project where there is a potential for significant cost savings or improved project performance or quality.
conducting VE analyses can offer opportunities for improved value and facilitate the success of projects involving complex technical issues, challenging project constraints, unique requirements, and competing community and stakeholder objectives.

Value Engineering Map showing incorporated VE recommendations and performance improvement

 

Value Engineering news

See Design Manual with revisions to Chapter 310 - Value Engineering

Workshop resources

Find workshop resources such as forms and guides to help with your workshop.

Setting up your workshop
Workshop Request Form (DOCX 132KB)
Value Engineering Workshop Guide (PDF 37MB)
Value Engineering Job Plan (PDF 702KB)
Value Engineering with Risk Assessment (PDF 234KB)

During your workshop
Value Engineering (VE) Study Sign-in Sheet (DOCX 128KB)
Study Checklist (DOC 90KB)
Team Member Guide (PDF 143KB)

After your workshop
Region Coordinator Roles (PDF 472KB)
Recommendation Approval Form (DOCX 35KB)
Performance Measures (PDF 48KB)

Reporting templates
Value Engineering Report Template (ftp site)
Value Engineering – Risk Assessment Report (VERA) template (PDF 38KB)

General VE information
What is Value Engineering? (PDF 270KB)
Does my project need a VE Study? (PDF 13KB)
Combining a CRA with a VE Study (PDF 164KB)

Design Manual M21-01 policy
Design Manual Chapter 305 - Project Management (PDF 800KB)
Design Manual Chapter 310 - Value Engineering (PDF 796KB)

See what other states practice to identify and eliminate unnecessary costs within projects.
Utah DOT Value Engineering
North Carolina DOT Value Engineering
Missouri DOT Value Engineering
New Jersey DOT Value Engineering

Region contacts

Northwest Region
Chris Damitio
Chris.Damitio@wsdot.wa.gov
360-757-5991

Hung Huynh
Hung.Huynh@wsdot.wa.gov
206-440-4311

North Central Region
Miguel Castillo
Miguel.Castillo.wsdot.wa.gov
509-667-2861

Dan Lewis
Dan.Lewis@wsdot.wa.gov
509-667-3051

Olympic Region
Steven Thomson
Steven.Thomson@wsdot.wa.gov
360-357-2757

Kevin Krzyzewski
Kevin.Krzyzewski@wsdot.wa.gov
360-357-2674

Southwest Region
Jonathan Abuyan
Jonathan.Abuyan@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-1579

Caroline Bricheux
Caroline.Bricheux@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-2080

Madison Cary
Madison.Cary@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-1565

South Central Region
Bob Hooker
Bob.Hooker@wsdot.wa.gov
509-577-1760

Jill Dexter
Jill.Dexter@wsdot.wa.gov
509-577-1817

Brian White
Brian.White@wsdot.wa.gov
509-577-1700

Eastern Region
Tracey Partridge
Tracey.Partridge.wsdot.wa.gov
509-324-6100

Washington State Ferries
Lei Lu
Lei.Lu@wsdot.wa.gov
206-515-3848

Cesar Mayor
Cesar.Mayor@wsdot.wa.gov
206-515-3848

I-405/SR 167 Program Coordinator
Dawn McIntosh
Dawn.McIntosh@wsdot.wa.gov
206-909-3655

We are hiring!

We have a range of positions open across the state - view all current job openings.

Improved access to 98.2 miles of upstream fish habitat

through 15 fish passage projects in 2021.

28% increase in the value of exports and imports 

from $90.2 billion in 2020 to $115.5 billion in 2021.