Value engineering

Find tools and templates to identify and eliminate unnecessary costs in project design, construction, operations and maintenance.

When is a Value Engineering workshop required?

WSDOT requires value engineering for structural projects over $40 million and all projects over $50 million. Projects with estimated total costs less than these amounts can apply value engineering to enhance performance of a facility, reduce cost, or as a tool to build consensus by engaging stakeholders.

When is a Value Engineering workshop recommended?

WSDOT encourages a VE analysis on any project where there is a potential for significant cost savings or improved project performance or quality. Conducting VE analyses can offer opportunities for improved value and facilitate the success of projects involving complex technical issues, challenging project constraints, unique requirements, and competing community and stakeholder objectives.

Value Engineering Map showing incorporated VE recommendations and performance improvement

 

Value Engineering news

See Design Manual with revisions to Chapter 310 - Value Engineering

Workshop resources

Find workshop resources such as forms and guides to help with your workshop.

Setting up your workshop

During your workshop

After your workshop

Reporting templates

General VE information

Design Manual M21-01 policy

See what other states practice to identify and eliminate unnecessary costs within projects.


Utah DOT Value Engineering
North Carolina DOT Value Engineering
Missouri DOT Value Engineering
New Jersey DOT Value Engineering

Region contacts

Northwest Region

Chris Damitio
Chris.Damitio@wsdot.wa.gov
360-757-5991

Hung Huynh
Hung.Huynh@wsdot.wa.gov
206-440-4311

North Central Region

Michael Roy
Michael.Roy@wsdot.wa.gov
509-667-2876

Dan Lewis
Dan.Lewis@wsdot.wa.gov
509-667-3051

Olympic Region

Kevin Krzyzewski
Kevin.Krzyzewski@wsdot.wa.gov
360-357-2674

Southwest Region

Jonathan Abuyan
Jonathan.Abuyan@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-1579

Caroline Bricheux
Caroline.Bricheux@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-2080

Madison Cary
Madison.Cary@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-1565

South Central Region

Bob Hooker
Bob.Hooker@wsdot.wa.gov
509-577-1760

Jill Dexter
Jill.Dexter@wsdot.wa.gov
509-577-1817

Eastern Region

Tracey Partridge
Tracey.Partridge.wsdot.wa.gov
509-324-6100

Washington State Ferries

Lei Lu
Lei.Lu@wsdot.wa.gov
206-515-3848

Cesar Mayor
Cesar.Mayor@wsdot.wa.gov
206-515-3848

I-405/SR 167 Program Coordinator

Dawn McIntosh
Dawn.McIntosh@wsdot.wa.gov
206-909-3655

Slow down on ice and snow.

It's easier to skid or lose control traveling at higher speeds. Give yourself more time to stop.

Carry chains, practice installing them.

Winter conditions could mean chains are required on your route. Practice putting them on your vehicle ahead of time.

Pack your winter car kit.

Carry extra supplies like warm clothing, ice scraper and brush, jumper cables and other emergency items.