Highway access requests & training

Find services for property owners, developers, consulting engineers and local agencies who are planning projects that impact state highways. You'll find tools and resources to help support this process.

Development services

If you need a driveway or have a land use development, please contact Region Development Services for assistance. 

Maps and data

See transportation data for milepost markers, geoportal, state route web, survey monuments, crash data, travel data, and more.

See the SnagMp page for more information by state route and milepost including highway classification.

Reference materials

For an overall explanation of limited access and managed access rules and requirements see overview of the types of access control (PDF 16KB). For managed access control inside city limits, the access is granted by the local entity.

Design Manual chapters
Please refer to the chapters of the Design Manual M22-01 listed below.

Chapter 210 - Public Involvement and Hearings

Chapter 510 - Right of Way Considerations
Chapter 520 - Access Control
Chapter 530 - Limited Access Control
Chapter 540 - Managed Access (HWY Classifications Exhibit 540-1 on Page 540-7)
Chapter 550 - Freeway Access Revision

Chapter 1130 - Development Services

RCWs and WACs

RCW 47.52 - Limited Access Facilities
WAC 468-54 - Limited Access Hearings
WAC 468-58 - Limited Access Highways

RCW 47.50 - Highway Access Management
WAC 468-51 - Highway Access Management Access Permits - Administrative Process
WAC 468-52 - Highway Access Management - Access Control System and Standards

Access Control Geographic Information System (GIS) workbench

View the Access Control GIS workbench

The Access Control map application displays access control classification for all Washington state highways.

Read the item description for this application.

Electronic access request approval process

To be used by WSDOT staff

Access databases

Highway Access Control and Hearings administers the limited and managed access programs for all Washington state highways.

Access hearings

Highway access control and hearings training

The WSDOT access control online training course is available through WSDOT. Participants can access the class and receive credit by contacting LeRoy Patterson.

This course will discuss access management in Washington State. It will discuss limited access and managed access programs, rules and requirements.

Region contacts

Northwest Region
Roland Storme (Skagit, Island, & Whatcom County)
Roland.Storme@wsdot.wa.gov
360-757-5961    

Cori Fahrni
Cori.Fahrni@wsdot.wa.gov
360-757-5964

Ramin Pazooki(Snohomish & King Counties)
Ramin.Pazooki@wsdot.wa.gov
206-440-4710

Randy Frantz
Randy.Frantz@wsdot.wa.gov
206-440-4715

Olympic Region
(Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Kitsap, Pierce & Thurston Counties)
Andy Larson
Andy.Larson@wsdot.wa.gov
360-900-9541

Robert Bailey
Robert.Bailey@wsdot.wa.gov
360-412-3450

Southwest Region
(Pacific, Lewis, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, Skamania & Klickitat Counties)
Jeff Barsness
Jeff.Barsness@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-2059

Logan Cullums
Logan.Cullums@wsdot.wa.gov
360-905-2187

North Central Region
(Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas & Grant Counties)

George Mazur
George.Mazur@wsdot.wa.gov
509-667-2917

Scott Cervine
Scott.Cervine@wsdot.wa.gov
509-667-2909

South Central Region
(Kittitas, Yakima, Benton, Franklin, Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield & Asotin Counties)
Jacob Prilucik
Jacob.Prilucik@wsdot.wa.gov
509-577-1635

Eastern Region
(Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams & Whitman Counties)
Greg Figg
Greg.Figg@wsdot.wa.gov
509-324-6199

Kevin Hee
Kevin.Hee@wsdot.wa.gov
509-324-6540

HQ Contacts
LeRoy Patterson
Access and Hearing Manager
LeRoy.Patterson@wsdot.wa.gov
360-705-7266

Matt Roos
Access and Hearing Specialist
Matt.Roos@wsdot.wa.gov
360-705-7671

Jeanne Doolin
Highway Access & Agreements Specialist
Jeanne.Doolin@wsdot.wa.gov
360-705-7458

14 fish passage projects were completed in 2020

improving access to 54.2 miles of upstream habitat.

11,959 incidents responded to

by WSDOT’s incident Response teams during second quarter of 2021, 15% more than same quarter in 2020.

41 Pre-existing Funds Projects Advertised

during the eighth quarter of the 2019-2021 biennium.