State ferries says, ‘Welcome aboard for free!’ to youth

SEATTLE – Some say the best things in life are free. If you’re age 18 or younger, that will soon include a ride aboard Washington State Ferries.

Starting Saturday, Oct. 1, youth will board for free as a result of this year’s Move Ahead Washington transportation package. The law directs transit agencies to provide free fares for passengers 18 and under across the state.

The legislation applies only to youth riding as a passenger in a vehicle and those walking onto a state ferry. It does not include teenagers behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. Drivers under 19 years old will continue to pay the adult vehicle and driver fare.

Because of this change, youth tickets are no longer available at self-serve kiosks and online. However, youth walking onto a ferry will still need a ticket or a valid ORCA card to board at terminals where one is currently needed. Terminal employees at the ticket booth can issue the free-fare youth tickets, which will be valid for two hours.

WSF, a division of the Washington State Department of Transportation, is the largest ferry system in the U.S. and safely and efficiently carries tens of millions of people a year through some of the most majestic scenery in the world. For breaking news and the latest information, follow WSF on Twitter and Facebook.

We are hiring!

We have a range of positions open across the state - view all current job openings.

Improved access to 98.2 miles of upstream fish habitat

through 15 fish passage projects in 2021.

28% increase in the value of exports and imports 

from $90.2 billion in 2020 to $115.5 billion in 2021.