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[bookmark: DATE]INSERT DATE


INSERT NAME
[bookmark: address]INSERT ADDRESS

Relocation Assistance Program
Notice of Relocation Eligibility, Entitlements & 90-Day Assurance
[bookmark: project]Project Name: INSERT PROJECT NAME
[bookmark: parcel]Parcel No.: INSERT PARCEL #
[bookmark: Displacee]Displacee No.: INSERT DISPLACEE #

Dear INSERT NAME:

[bookmark: odate][bookmark: occdate]On INSERT OFFER DATE the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) offered to purchase property you occupy located at INSERT ADDRESS. According to information you have provided, you have occupied the above property since INSERT OCCUPIED DATE.

Relocation Notice of Eligibility 
You are eligible to receive relocation assistance in accordance with the United States Code, 42 USC 4601 et seq., Public Law 91-646, the implementing regulations found in 49 Code of Federal Regulations, CFR Part 24, the Revised Code of Washington, RCW 8.26, and the implementing regulations of the Washington Administrative Code, WAC 468-100. The purpose of this letter is to advise you of the relocation assistance and entitlements that may be available to you in accordance with the federal and state laws and regulations cited above.

90-Day Assurance
You are not required to relocate immediately. You will not be required to vacate the property before INSERT ASSURANCE DATE, which is at least 90 days from the date you receive this letter.  You will be given another notice at least 30 days in advance of the specific date that the property needs to be vacated.  

Moving Entitlement
You may select a commercial move, an actual cost self-move, a self-move based on the successful move bids, a specialist estimate, a predetermined move cost schedule, or a combination of the options for moving your personal property.
Select the appropriate options and delete options not used:
Under $10,000 option:
Due to the non-complex nature of your move, your entitlement has been calculated using a specialist move estimate based on the Washington State Utilities and Transportation Commission Tariff Guidelines and/or the move cost schedule provided in the Personal Property Only section of Chapter 12 of the WSDOT Right of Way Manual. If you choose to move yourself using your own forces and resources, WSDOT will reimburse your actual and reasonable moving expenses not to exceed $INSERT SPECIALIST ESTIMATE AMOUNT OR THE PPO MOVE SCHEDULE AMOUNT to move all your personal property. The payment will include all costs to disconnect, disassemble, pack, move, unpack, reassemble, and reconnect, as well as any applicable packing materials needed.  

In the event you choose a commercial move, WSDOT will obtain bids from professional movers and pay based on actual costs.  

In the event you choose an actual cost self-move you will be reimbursed for labor and equipment used to move your personal property. You must submit acceptable supporting documentation of actual costs incurred during your move such as receipts or invoices.

If you wish to select a combination of the move options, I will work with you to determine the level of reimbursement for each portion of your move. Payment for a move is limited up to a maximum of 50 miles.  
OR
Over $10,000 Option:
In the event you choose a commercial move, estimates were obtained from professional movers to determine a reasonable amount to reimburse you for moving expenses. We obtained a total of INSERT NUMBER OF BIDS bids to relocate your business operation. Movers were asked to include the cost to disconnect, disassemble, pack, move, unpack, reassemble, and reconnect personal property, as well as the cost of any applicable packing materials needed. INSERT NAME OF MOVING COMPANY submitted the lowest acceptable bid in the amount of $INSERT BID AMOUNT to move your personal property. The contact person for this company is INSERT NAME OF CONTACT and can be reached at INSERT PHONE NUMBER/EMAIL. You may select a mover of your choice but you will only be reimbursed up to the amount of the acceptable bid. Payment for a commercial move is limited up to a maximum of 50 miles.  

In the event you choose to move yourself using your own forces and resources, WSDOT will reimburse your actual and reasonable moving expenses not to exceed $INSERT BID AMOUNT to move your personal property. The payment will include all costs covered in the move bids obtained from the commercial mover. 

In the event you choose an actual cost self-move you will be reimbursed for labor and equipment used to move your personal property. You must submit acceptable supporting documentation of actual costs incurred during your move such as receipts or invoices. You will be required to document your self-move costs and expenses.  

If you wish to select a combination of the move options, I will work with you to determine the level of reimbursement for each portion of your move.

Advisory Assistance
I will work with you to determine your relocation needs and answer any questions about your relocation entitlements. Relocation needs are specific and individual to each entity being displaced. Maintaining ongoing communication during the relocation process provides the best advisory assistance and supports claim processing and payments. As part of advisory assistance, a review and determination of eligibility and reimbursement amounts for potential relocation expenses is available.  Prior to incurring expenses or entering any contractual obligations associated with the move, it is highly recommended that you contact me to establish eligibility and the documentation required to submit a claim.  You will be provided with assistance in completing claim forms. If needed, I will provide you with help locating replacement sites. You should be aware that, ultimately, it is your responsibility to locate a replacement site.

Claiming Your Entitlement
You must notify me of the date you intend to move and sign a Move Expense Agreement. It is important that WSDOT has the opportunity to make reasonable and timely inspections of your personal property at both the displacement and replacement sites and to monitor the move.  Once you have vacated the property completely you will need to schedule a vacate inspection with me. Once I have verified that all personal property has been removed from the displacement property, I will prepare a claim, secure appropriate signatures, and submit the claim for processing and payment. In the event that all personal property is not removed, appropriate action will be taken by WSDOT and you will be responsible for the cost associated with removing personal property left at the displacement site. This cost will be deducted from your moving claim/payment.

Prior to processing claims for relocation entitlements, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires WSDOT to obtain your correct taxpayer identification number (TIN) or social security number (SSN). In addition to the IRS requirement, the Washington State Office of Financial Management (OFM) requires that all state agencies use a statewide vendor number for all payments. You will be required to complete the Statewide Payee Registration form. This is necessary even though relocation payments are considered non-taxable. It is recommended that the form is completed prior to the submittal of any relocation claims in order to expedite the payment process once claims are submitted. If you need advice on how to complete these forms, please contact an IRS office, accountant, or legal consultant.

All claims for relocation payments shall be filed with WSDOT within 18 months from the date you move from the acquired property or the date you receive final payment for your property, whichever is later. Documentation is required for actual costs incurred on all claims submitted.  

Occupancy of Property
Occupancy of the property beyond the date that WSDOT takes possession of the property will require you to sign a lease.  

Reconsideration of a WSDOT Decision and Right to Appeal 
If you disagree with a determination made by me or another WSDOT Relocation Specialist regarding your eligibility for, or the amount of your relocation entitlement, you may seek an informal reconsideration of such determination by sending a letter explaining your grievance within 30 days after receipt of such determination to:

Washington State Department of Transportation
Acquisition Program Manager
Real Estate Services
PO Box 47338
	Olympia, WA 98504-7338

You also have the right to appeal a determination WSDOT should make as to your eligibility for or the amount of any payment without going through the informal reconsideration process. The appeal procedure is explained in the Relocation Assistance Program Brochure as well as the General Notice Letter previously given to you.

(INCLUDE ENCLOSED LIST IF APPLICABLE)
Enclosed please find the following:
· Statewide Vendor Number Registration Form
Note: Any other items enclosed need to be added to this list

As previously stated, the purpose of this letter is to provide specific information as to how your entitlements are calculated and how you may claim them. Please sign the receipt below so our records show you received this letter. Feel free to contact me for any clarification and any questions you may have.

Sincerely,



[bookmark: aname]INSERT SPECIALIST'S NAME
Relocation Specialist
Real Estate Services
[bookmark: aaddress]INSERT SPECIALIST'S ADDRESS
[bookmark: phone]INSERT SPECIALIST'S PHONE NUMBER & FAX NUMBER
INSERT SPECIALIST'S E-MAIL ADDRESS


Acknowledgment of Receipt of Letter

Signature:						Date:					
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