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Fuel Taxes:

A State-by-State Comparison

The Washington State Department of Transportation pre-
pares a nationwide fuel tax comparison to assess and com-
pare the state’s motor fuel tax to that of the other 49 states
and the District of Columbia. Throughout the country, state
and local governments impose a variety of cents-per-gallon
taxes and taxes based on the retail or wholesale price of
fuel. Some states also impose environmental or business
taxes that translate into cents-per-gallon charges at the
pump. To determine how Washington compares to the oth-
er states in the nation, the Washington State Department of
Transportation has analyzed data from other states to learn
what taxes are imposed on fuel used by cars and trucks

traveling on the nation’s roads.

This report covers the period from January 1, 2012, through
June 30, 2012. Since our last report, issued in December
2011, the nation’s average cost of fuel increased 16 cents
resulting in upward changes to states with applicable sales

tax or variable tax rates.

For the first half of 2012 Washington ranked 8th in the na-
tion for combined state and local gasoline taxes. The major-
ity of the states (22 states and District of Columbia) have
combined fuel tax rates that fall within the 20¢ to 30¢ range,
twelve states fall into the 30¢ to 40¢ range, six states are
above 40¢ and the remaining ten have combined fuel tax
rates under 20¢. The average state gasoline excise tax is

21.5¢ per gallon.

The national average state and local gasoline tax rate for
this six-month period is 30.0¢ per gallon, which is 2.4¢ high-
er than was reported in December 2011. Washington’s 37.6¢
tax rate is lower than states with traffic congestion similar to
ours (lllinois 64.1¢, New York 52.5¢, and California, 46.19¢).
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The federal tax on gasoline is 18.4¢ per gallon for all states
with the last increase occuring in 1993. Including the federal
tax on gasoline, the nationwide average tax is 46.0¢ per
gallon as of June 30, 2012. Federal and state taxes account
for 12.5% of the average pump price of $3.72 per gallon of
gasoline in the nation during the first half of 2012 and 14.0%
of the average pump price of $4.00 per gallon in Washing-

ton during the same period of time.

The Impact of the Combined State and Federal

Motor Fuel Tax Rates at the Pump
(dollars per gallon)

Washington United States

Average Retail Price of Gasoline $4.00 $3.72

Average Motor Fuel Tax Rate

(Including Federal Gas Tax of 18.4¢) $0.56 $0.46

Motor Fuel Tax as a Percentage
of the Retail Price of Gasoline

Source: The U.S. Energy Information Administration
motor fuel prices for the period of January 2012 - June 2012.
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The information in this report is gathered from the Commerce Clearing
House (CCH) State Tax Guide, Statute Summaries. In addition, data
was supplemented with information supplied by individual states, official
DOT web sites and telephone interviews with officials in selected states.



State by State Combined State and Local Gas Tax Rate Comparison

lllinois 1

New York 2
Connecticut3
California 4
Hawaii 5
Michigan 6
North Carolina 7
Washington 8
Indiana 9
Wisconsin 10
Floridal1
Nevada 12

West Virginia 13
Oregon 14
Maine 15

Rhode Island 16
Georgial7
Pennsylvania 18
Minnesota 19
Ohio 20
Kentucky 21
Montana 22
Nebraska 23
Vermont 24
Idaho 25
Virginia 26
Kansas 27

Utah 28

South Dakota 29
Dist. of Columbia 30
Maryland 32
Massachusetts 31
North Dakota 33
Delaware 34
Colorado 35
lowa 36
Arkansas 37
Mississippi 38
Tennessee 39
Alabama 40
Louisiana 41
Texas 42

New Hampshire 43
Arizona44

New Mexico 45
Missouri 46
Oklahoma 47
South Carolina 48
New Jersey 49
Wyoming 50
Alaska 51

January 1, 2012 through June 30, 2012
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Guide to the Tables

Several tables are presented in this report that delineate the states’ rankings. Gasoline and diesel taxes for each state are displayed in tables A and
C, respectively. The tax information in each of these tables is stratified into seven columns by the following categories:

Columns Al and C1: Federal Taxes

These columns show the sum of the federal excise taxes on gasoline and diesel fuel.

Columns A2 and C2: State Excise Tax
These columns show state excise taxes on gasoline and diesel fuel.

Columns A3 and C3: Sales and Use Tax Percentage Rates

These columns show state and local sales and use taxes as a percentage of the price of fuel. These numbers include taxes levied on the retail or
wholesale price of fuel. Locally imposed sales taxes were included since these are often collected by state agencies and, in some states, are so
widely imposed that they uniformly and substantially raise the sales tax rates statewide.

Columns A4 and C4: Sales, Use, and Other Business Taxes in Cents-Per-Gallon

These columns show state and local sales and use taxes as a rate of cents-per-gallon calculated using the tax rate from column A3.

Columns A5 and C5: Other State Taxes

These columns show other state taxes including inspection, environmental fees such as underground storage and discharge fees, import and
miscellaneous post-production taxes on petroleum products.

Columns A6 and C6: Local Excise Taxes

These columns show all taxes (other than sales taxes) levied locally at a cents-per-gallon rate.

Columns A7 and C7: Total Taxes

These columns show the total rates for all federal, state, and local taxes on highway fuels.

Following each of the component tables are tables B and D, which show various rank orderings of the states based on the fuel taxes imposed. The
stratification scheme for showing the relative ranking of the states was adopted to show the separate and combined impact of the federal, state and
local taxes.

Columns Bl and D1: State Excise Taxes Only

These columns show the rates normally cited as the state gas or diesel tax rates.

Columns B2 and D2: State Excise and Other State Taxes Only

These columns rank the states by all state-imposed taxes except sales tax.

Columns B3 and D3: All State and Local Taxes

These columns rank the states by all taxes imposed on highway fuel by state or local governments.

Columns B4 and D4: All State, Federal, and Local Taxes

These are similar to columns B3 and D3, but include all federal taxes on highway fuel as well.

It is important to remember that this report is designed to show roughly what consumers are paying in fuel taxes in each state. Itis not designed to
indicate what other state governments are spending on roads.

While the gasoline tax tables are fairly straightforward, the diesel tables are complicated by the diversity of state tax structures. In most states, the
diesel fuel tax is equivalent to the gasoline tax, so drivers of personal diesel-powered vehicles will pay at the same rate as other motorists. Diesel-
powered commercial trucks, however, will often pay more; several states charge motor carriers through road taxes, fuel tax surcharges, or weight-
mile taxes. In these states the motor carrier may be exempt from all or a portion of the fuel tax but will usually pay an equal or greater tax on road
operations through one of these other taxes.
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Gasoline Tax Tables

The rates shown in this comparison do not fully depict what the states are collecting from users. Alaska, for example, has the

lowest combined state and local fuel tax rates in the nation, and no state excise tax. It has no dedicated user fees; general fund
appropriations account for a portion of the highway budget three times greater than revenues from motor fuel and motor carrier
taxes. What cannot be shown on these tables are Alaska'’s oil production fees, which amount to a tax in every state on every user of
petroleum products derived from Alaskan oil. Other oil-producing states have similar production and severence fees, which could be
perceived as instruments for taxing users in other states.
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Al: : A3: A4: A5: A6: Total State

Federal Sales and Use Tax Other Local & Local
Tax ¢/galt Taxes Taxes Taxes
Alabama 18.40¢ 16.00¢ 3.00¢ 1.46¢ 20.46¢ 38.86¢
Alaska 18.40¢ 8.00¢ 8.00¢ 26.40¢
Arizona 18.40¢ 18.00¢ 1.00¢ 19.00¢ 37.40¢
Arkansas 18.40¢ 21.50¢ .30¢ 21.80¢ 40.20¢
California 18.40¢ 35.70¢ 2.25% 8.37¢ 2.12¢ 46.19¢ 64.59¢
Colorado 18.40¢ 22.00¢ .01¢ 22.01¢ 40.41¢
Connecticut 18.40¢ 25.00¢ 23.00 .01¢ 48.01¢ 66.41¢
Delaware 18.40¢ 23.00¢ 23.00¢ 41.40¢
Dist. of Columbia 18.40¢ 23.50¢ 23.50¢ 41.90¢
Florida 18.40¢ 4.00¢ 6.0%' 12.60¢ 6.90¢ 10.24¢ 33.74¢ 52.14¢
Georgia 18.40¢ 7.50¢ 4.0%' 12.10¢ 1.20¢ 10.90¢ 31.70¢ 50.10¢
Hawaii 18.40¢ 17.00¢ 4.0% 14.88¢ 12¢ 13.58¢ 45.58¢ 63.98¢
ldaho 18.40¢ 25.00¢ 1.00¢ 26.00¢ 44.40¢
lllinois 18.40¢ 19.00¢ T 40.00¢ 1.10¢ 4.00¢ 64.10¢ 82.50¢
Indiana 18.40¢ 18.00¢ T 17.80¢ 1.00¢ 36.80¢ 55.20¢
lowa 18.40¢ 21.00¢ 1.00¢ 22.00¢ 40.40¢
Kansas 18.40¢ 24.00¢ 1.03¢ 25.03¢ 43.43¢
Kentucky 18.40¢ 26.40¢ T 1.40¢ 27.80¢ 46.20¢
Louisiana 18.40¢ 20.00¢ .13¢ 20.13¢ 38.53¢
Maine 18.40¢ 30.00¢ 2.13¢ 32.13¢ 50.53¢
Maryland 18.40¢ 23.50¢ 23.50¢ 41.90¢
Massachusetts 18.40¢ 21.00¢ 2.50¢ 23.50¢ 41.90¢
Michigan 18.40¢ 19.00¢ 6.0%" 20.50¢ .88¢ 40.38¢ 58.78¢
Minnesota 18.40¢ 28.00¢ .10¢ 28.10¢ 46.50¢
Mississippi 18.40¢ 18.00¢ .40¢ 3.00¢ 21.40¢ 39.80¢
Missouri 18.40¢ 17.00¢ .30¢ 17.30¢ 35.70¢
Montana 18.40¢ 27.00¢ .75¢ 27.75¢ 46.15¢
Nebraska 18.40¢ 26.70¢ .90¢ 27.60¢ 46.00¢
Nevada 18.40¢ 24.00¢ .81¢ 8.82¢ 33.63¢ 52.03¢
New Hampshire 18.40¢ 18.00¢ 1.63¢ 19.63¢ 38.03¢
New Jersey 18.40¢ 10.50¢ 2.75%" 4.00¢ 14.50¢ 32.90¢
New Mexico 18.40¢ 17.00¢ 1.88¢ 18.88¢ 37.28¢
New York 18.40¢ 8.00¢ 4.0% 16.00¢ 17.80¢ 10.70¢ 52.50¢ 70.90¢
North Carolina 18.40¢ 38.90¢ .25¢ 39.15¢ 57.55¢
North Dakota 18.40¢ 23.00¢ .03¢ 23.03¢ 41.43¢
Ohio 18.40¢ 28.00¢ 28.00¢ 46.40¢
Oklahoma 18.40¢ 16.00¢ 1.00¢ 17.00¢ 35.40¢
Oregon 18.40¢ 30.00¢ 3.00¢ 33.00¢ 51.40¢
Pennsylvania 18.40¢ 31.20¢ .50¢ 31.70¢ 50.10¢
Rhode Island 18.40¢ 32.00¢ 1.00¢ 33.00¢ 51.40¢
South Carolina 18.40¢ 16.00¢ .75¢ 16.75¢ 35.15¢
South Dakota 18.40¢ 22.00¢ 2.00¢ 24.00¢ 42.40¢
Tennessee 18.40¢ 20.00¢ 1.40¢ 21.40¢ 39.80¢
Texas 18.40¢ 20.00¢ .03¢ 20.03¢ 38.43¢
Utah 18.40¢ 24.50¢ .01¢ 24.51¢ 42.91¢
Vermont 18.40¢ 20.00¢ 2.0%" 6.53¢ 1.00¢ 27.53¢ 45.93¢
Virginia 18.40¢ 17.50¢ .20¢ 7.81¢ 25.51¢ 43.91¢
Washington 18.40¢ 37.50¢ .10¢+# 37.60¢ 56.00¢
West Virginia 18.40¢ 20.50¢ 5.0% 12.90¢ 33.40¢ 51.80¢
Wisconsin 18.40¢ 30.90¢ 2.00¢ 1.36¢ 34.26¢ 52.66¢
Wyoming 18.40¢ 13.00¢ 1.00¢ 14.00¢ 32.40¢

The 18.4¢ Federal gasoline tax includes 0.1¢ to the Leaking Underground Storage Tank account.

% Sales tax cents per-gallon rates calculated by applying the percentage rate to the national average price-per-gallon of gasoline (US all grades, all formulations) as estimated
by the Energy Information Administration (01/12- 06/12).

T Retail or wholesale tax fixed in cents/gal.

1 Washington State oil spill administration tax
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Table B: States Rank-Ordered
GASOLINE TAXES

State Tax Rate State
North Carolina 38.90¢ Connecticut 48.00¢
Washington 37.50¢ North Carolina 39.15¢
California 35.70¢ California 37.82¢
Rhode Island 32.00¢ Washington 37.60¢
Pennsylvania 31.20¢ Rhode Island 33.00¢
Wisconsin 30.90¢ Wisconsin 32.90¢
Maine 30.00¢ Maine 32.13¢
Oregon 30.00¢ Pennsylvania 31.70¢
Minnesota 28.00¢ Oregon 30.00¢
Ohio 28.00¢ Minnesota 28.10¢
Montana 27.00¢ Ohio 28.00¢
Nebraska 26.70¢ Kentucky 27.80¢
Kentucky 26.40¢ Montana 27.75¢
Connecticut 25.00¢ Nebraska 27.60¢
Idaho 25.00¢ Idaho 26.00¢
Utah 24.50¢ New York 25.80¢
Kansas 24.00¢ Kansas 25.03¢
Nevada 24.00¢ Nevada 24.81¢
Dist. of Columbia| 23.50¢ Utah 24.51¢
Maryland 23.50¢ South Dakota 24.00¢
Delaware 23.00¢ Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
North Dakota 23.00¢ Maryland 23.50¢
Colorado 22.00¢ Massachusetts 23.50¢
South Dakota 22.00¢ Delaware 23.00¢
Arkansas 21.50¢ North Dakota 23.00¢
lowa 21.00¢ Colorado 22.01¢
Massachusetts 21.00¢ lowa 22.00¢
West Virginia 20.50¢ Arkansas 21.80¢
Louisiana 20.00¢ Tennessee 21.40¢
Tennessee 20.00¢ Vermont 21.00¢
Texas 20.00¢ West Virginia 20.50¢
Vermont 20.00¢ Louisiana 20.13¢
lllinois 19.00¢ lllinois 20.10¢
Michigan 19.00¢ Texas 20.03¢
Arizona 18.00¢ Michigan 19.88¢
Indiana 18.00¢ New Hampshire 19.63¢
Mississippi 18.00¢ Alabama 19.00¢
New Hampshire 18.00¢ Avrizona 19.00¢
Virginia 17.50¢ Indiana 19.00¢
Hawaii 17.00¢ New Mexico 18.88¢
Missouri 17.00¢ Mississippi 18.40¢
New Mexico 17.00¢ Virginia 17.70¢
Alabama 16.00¢ Missouri 17.30¢
Oklahoma 16.00¢ Hawaii 17.12¢
South Carolina 16.00¢ Oklahoma 17.00¢
Wyoming 13.00¢ South Carolina 16.75¢
New Jersey 10.50¢ Wyoming 14.00¢
Alaska 8.00¢ Florida 10.90¢
New York 8.00¢ New Jersey 10.50¢
Georgia 7.50¢ Georgia 8.70¢
Florida 4.00¢ Alaska 8.00¢

* Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table A, column A2.
1 Rank-ordered based on the sum of tax rates shown in Table A, columns A2,and A5.
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Table B: States Rank-Ordered
GASOLINE TAXES (cont'd)

State Tax Rate

State Tax Rate
lllinois 64.10¢ lllinois 82.50¢
New York 52.50¢ New York 70.90¢
Connecticut 48.01¢ Connecticut 66.41¢
California 46.19¢ California 64.59¢
Hawaii 45.58¢ Hawaii 63.98¢
Michigan 40.38¢ Michigan 58.78¢
North Carolina 39.15¢ North Carolina 57.55¢
Washington 37.60¢ Washington 56.00¢
Indiana 36.80¢ Indiana 55.20¢
Wisconsin 34.26¢ Wisconsin 52.66¢
Florida 33.74¢ Florida 52.14¢
Nevada 33.63¢ Nevada 52.03¢
West Virginia 33.40¢ West Virginia 51.80¢
Oregon 33.00¢ Oregon 51.40¢
Rhode Island 33.00¢ Rhode Island 51.40¢
Maine 32.13¢ Maine 50.53¢
Georgia 31.70¢ Georgia 50.10¢
Pennsylvania 31.70¢ Pennsylvania 50.10¢
Minnesota 28.10¢ Minnesota 46.50¢
Ohio 28.00¢ Ohio 46.40¢
Kentucky 27.80¢ Kentucky 46.20¢
Montana 27.75¢ Montana 46.15¢
Nebraska 27.60¢ Nebraska 46.00¢
Vermont 27.53¢ Vermont 45.93¢
Idaho 26.00¢ Idaho 44.40¢
Virginia 25.51¢ Virginia 43.91¢
Kansas 25.03¢ Kansas 43.43¢
Utah 24.51¢ Utah 42.90¢
South Dakota 24.00¢ South Dakota 42.40¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢ Dist. of Columbia 41.90¢
Maryland 23.50¢ Maryland 41.90¢
Massachusetts 23.50¢ Massachusetts 41.90¢
North Dakota 23.03¢ North Dakota 41.43¢
Delaware 23.00¢ Delaware 41.40¢
Colorado 22.01¢ Colorado 40.41¢
lowa 22.00¢ lowa 40.40¢
Arkansas 21.80¢ Arkansas 40.20¢
Mississippi 21.40¢ Mississippi 39.80¢
Tennessee 21.40¢ Tennessee 39.80¢
Alabama 20.46¢ Alabama 38.86¢
Louisiana 20.13¢ Louisiana 38.53¢
Texas 20.03¢ Texas 38.43¢
New Hampshire 19.63¢ New Hampshire 38.03¢
Arizona 19.00¢ Arizona 37.40¢
New Mexico 18.88¢ New Mexico 37.28¢
Missouri 17.30¢ Missouri 35.70¢
Oklahoma 17.00¢ Oklahoma 35.40¢
South Carolina 16.75¢ South Carolina 35.15¢
New Jersey 14.50¢ New Jersey 32.90¢
Wyoming 14.00¢ Wyoming 32.40¢
Alaska 8.00¢ Alaska 26.40¢

* Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table A, column A2, A4, A5 and A6 .
T Rank-ordered based on the tax rates shown in Table A, column A7.
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Diesel Tax Tables
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Table C: Fuel Tax Components
Diesel Taxes for the period ending June 30, 2012
C1: : C-3: C-4: C5: C6: Total State
Federal Sales and Use Tax Other Local & Local
Tax %6 ¢/galt Taxes Taxes Taxes
Alabama 24.40¢ 19.00¢ 2.00¢ 1.46¢ 22.46¢ 46.86¢
Alaska 24.40¢ 8.00¢ 8.00¢ 32.40¢
Arizona 24.40¢ 26.00¢ 1.00¢ 27.00¢ 51.40¢
Arkansas 24.40¢ 22.50¢ .30¢ 22.80¢ 47.20¢
California 24.40¢ 13.00¢ 9.12% 34.75¢ 1.52¢ 49.36¢ 73.76¢
Colorado 24.40¢ 20.50¢ .01¢ 20.51¢ 44.91¢
Connecticut 24.40¢ 46.20¢ 23.28¢ 69.48¢ 93.88¢
Delaware 24.40¢ 22.00¢ 22.00¢ 46.40¢
Dist. of Columbia 24.40¢ 23.50¢ 23.50¢ 47.90¢
Florida 24.40¢ 4.00¢ 6.0%" 26.50¢ 6.90¢ 10.58¢ 47.98¢ 72.38¢
Georgia 24.40¢ 7.50¢ 4.0% 14.30¢ 1.20¢ 12.33¢ 35.33¢ 59.73¢
Hawaii 24.40¢ 17.00¢ 4.0%' 15.24¢ .12¢ 13.58¢ 45.98¢ 70.38¢
Idaho 24.40¢ 25.00¢ 1.00¢ 26.00¢ 50.40¢
lllinois 24.40¢ 21.50¢ i 41.00¢ 1.10¢ 4.00¢ 67.60¢ 92.00¢
Indiana 24.40¢ 16.00¢ i 15.10¢ 1.00¢ 32.10¢ 56.50¢
lowa 24.40¢ 22.50¢ 1.00¢ 23.50¢ 47.90¢
Kansas 24.40¢ 26.00¢ 1.03¢ 27.03¢ 51.43¢
Kentucky 24.40¢ 23.40¢ 1.40¢ 24.80¢ 49.20¢
Louisiana 24.40¢ 20.00¢ .13¢ 20.13¢ 44.53¢
Maine 24.40¢ 31.20¢ 2.13¢ 33.33¢ 57.73¢
Maryland 24.40¢ 24.25¢ 24.25¢ 48.65¢
Massachusetts 24.40¢ 21.00¢ 2.50¢ 23.50¢ 47.90¢
Michigan 24.40¢ 15.00¢ 6.0%' 21.30¢ .88¢ 37.18¢ 61.58¢
Minnesota 24.40¢ 28.00¢ .10¢ 28.10¢ 52.50¢
Mississippi 24.40¢ 18.00¢ .40¢ 3.00¢ 21.40¢ 45.80¢
Missouri 24.40¢ 17.00¢ .80¢ 17.80¢ 42.20¢
Montana 24.40¢ 27.75¢ .75¢ 28.50¢ 52.90¢
Nebraska 24.40¢ 26.70¢ .30¢ 27.00¢ 51.40¢
Nevada 24.40¢ 27.75¢ .81¢ 8.60¢ 37.16¢ 61.56¢
New Hampshire 24.40¢ 18.00¢ 1.51¢ 19.51¢ 43.91¢
New Jersey 24.40¢ 13.50¢ 2.75%' 4.00¢ 17.50¢ 41.90¢
New Mexico 24.40¢ 21.00¢ .02¢ 21.02¢ 45.42¢
New York 24.40¢ 8.00¢ 4.0%' 16.00¢ 17.80¢ 10.70¢ 52.50¢ 76.90¢
North Carolina 24.40¢ 38.90¢ .25¢ 39.15¢ 63.55¢
North Dakota 24.40¢ 23.00¢ 23.00¢ 47.40¢
Ohio 24.40¢ 28.00¢ 28.00¢ 52.40¢
Oklahoma 24.40¢ 13.00¢ 1.00¢ 14.00¢ 38.40¢
Oregon 24.40¢ 30.00¢ 3.00¢ 33.00¢ 57.40¢
Pennsylvania 24.40¢ 38.10¢ .50¢ 38.60¢ 63.00¢
Rhode Island 24.40¢ 32.00¢ 1.00¢ 33.00¢ 57.40¢
South Carolina 24.40¢ 16.00¢ .75¢ 16.75¢ 41.15¢
South Dakota 24.40¢ 22.00¢ 2.00¢ 24.00¢ 48.40¢
Tennessee 24.40¢ 17.00¢ 1.40¢ 18.40¢ 42.80¢
Texas 24.40¢ 20.00¢ .03¢ 20.03¢ 44.43¢
Utah 24.40¢ 24.50¢ .01¢ 24.51¢ 48.91¢
Vermont 24.40¢ 25.00¢ 1.00¢ 26.00¢ 50.40¢
Virginia 24.40¢ 17.50¢ .20¢ 7.81¢ 25.51¢ 49.91¢
Washington 24.40¢ 37.50¢ .10¢+ 37.60¢ 62.00¢
West Virginia 24.40¢ 20.50¢ 5.0% 11.70¢ 32.20¢ 56.60¢
Wisconsin 24.40¢ 30.90¢ 2.00¢ 1.36¢ 34.26¢ 58.66¢
Wyoming 24.40¢ 13.00¢ 1.00¢ 14.00¢ 38.40¢

The 24.4¢ Federal gasoline tax includes 0.1¢ to the Leaking Underground Storage Tank account.

* Sales tax cents per-gallon rates calculated by applying the percentage rate to the national average price-per-gallon of gasoline (US all grades, all formulations) as estimated
by the Energy Information Administration (01/12- 06/12).

T Retail or wholesale tax fixed in cents/gal.

1 Washington State oil spill administration tax
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Table D: States Rank-Ordered
DIESEL TAXES

Diesel Diesel
D1: State Excise D2: State Excise and
Taxes Only* Other State Taxes Onlyt
State Tax Rate State Tax Rate
Connecticut 46.20¢ Connecticut 69.48¢
North Carolina 38.90¢ North Carolina 39.15¢
Pennsylvania 38.10¢ Pennsylvania 38.60¢
Washington 37.50¢ Washington 37.60¢
Rhode Island 32.00¢ Maine 33.33¢
Maine 31.20¢ Rhode Island 33.00¢
Wisconsin 30.90¢ Wisconsin 32.90¢
Oregon 30.00¢ Oregon 30.00¢
Minnesota 28.00¢ Nevada 28.56¢
Ohio 28.00¢ Montana 28.50¢
Montana 27.75¢ Minnesota 28.10¢
Nevada 27.75¢ Ohio 28.00¢
Nebraska 26.70¢ Kansas 27.03¢
Arizona 26.00¢ Arizona 27.00¢
Kansas 26.00¢ Nebraska 27.00¢
Idaho 25.00¢ Idaho 26.00¢
Vermont 25.00¢ Vermont 26.00¢
Utah 24.50¢ New York 25.80¢
Maryland 24.25¢ Kentucky 24.80¢
Dist. of Columbia | 23.50¢ Utah 24.51¢
Kentucky 23.40¢ Maryland 24.25¢
North Dakota 23.00¢ South Dakota 24.00¢
Arkansas 22.50¢ Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
lowa 22.50¢ lowa 23.50¢
Delaware 22.00¢ Massachusetts 23.50¢
South Dakota 22.00¢ North Dakota 23.00¢
lllinois 21.50¢ Arkansas 22.80¢
Massachusetts 21.00¢ lllinois 22.60¢
New Mexico 21.00¢ Delaware 22.00¢
Colorado 20.50¢ New Mexico 21.02¢
West Virginia 20.50¢ Alabama 21.00¢
Louisiana 20.00¢ Colorado 20.51¢
Texas 20.00¢ West Virginia 20.50¢
Alabama 19.00¢ Louisiana 20.13¢
Mississippi 18.00¢ Texas 20.03¢
New Hampshire 18.00¢ New Hampshire 19.51¢
Virginia 17.50¢ Mississippi 18.40¢
Hawaii 17.00¢ Tennessee 18.40¢
Missouri 17.00¢ Missouri 17.80¢
Tennessee 17.00¢ Virginia 17.70¢
Indiana 16.00¢ Hawaii 17.12¢
South Carolina 16.00¢ Indiana 17.00¢
Michigan 15.00¢ South Carolina 16.75¢
New Jersey 13.50¢ Michigan 15.88¢
California 13.00¢ California 14.52¢
Oklahoma 13.00¢ Oklahoma 14.00¢
Wyoming 13.00¢ Wyoming 14.00¢
Alaska 8.00¢ New Jersey 13.50¢
New York 8.00¢ Florida 10.90¢
Georgia 7.50¢ Georgia 8.70¢
Florida 4.00¢ Alaska 8.00¢

* Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table C, column C2.
T Rank-ordered based on the sum of tax rates shown in Table C, columns C2,and C5.
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Table D: States Rank-Ordered
DIESEL TAXES (cont’d)

Diesel Diesel
D3: All State D4: All State, Federal,
and Local Taxes* and Local Taxest
Connecticut 69.48¢ Connecticut 93.88¢
lllinois 67.60¢ lllinois 92.00¢
New York 52.50¢ New York 76.90¢
California 49.36¢ California 73.76¢
Florida 47.98¢ Florida 72.38¢
Hawaii 45.98¢ Hawaii 70.38¢
North Carolina 39.15¢ North Carolina 63.55¢
Pennsylvania 38.60¢ Pennsylvania 63.00¢
Washington 37.60¢ Washington 62.00¢
Michigan 37.18¢ Michigan 61.58¢
Nevada 37.16¢ Nevada 61.56¢
Georgia 35.33¢ Georgia 59.73¢
Wisconsin 34.26¢ Wisconsin 58.66¢
Maine 33.33¢ Maine 57.73¢
Oregon 33.00¢ Oregon 57.40¢
Rhode Island 33.00¢ Rhode Island 57.40¢
West Virginia 32.20¢ West Virginia 56.60¢
Indiana 32.10¢ Indiana 56.50¢
Montana 28.50¢ Montana 52.90¢
Minnesota 28.10¢ Minnesota 52.50¢
Ohio 28.00¢ Ohio 52.40¢
Kansas 27.03¢ Kansas 51.43¢
Arizona 27.00¢ Arizona 51.40¢
Nebraska 27.00¢ Nebraska 51.40¢
Idaho 26.00¢ Idaho 50.40¢
Vermont 26.00¢ Vermont 50.40¢
Virginia 25.51¢ Virginia 49.91¢
Kentucky 24.80¢ Kentucky 49.20¢
Utah 24.51¢ Utah 48.90¢
Maryland 24.25¢ Maryland 48.65¢
South Dakota 24.00¢ South Dakota 48.40¢
Dist. of Columbia | 23.50¢ Dist. of Columbia 47.90¢
lowa 23.50¢ lowa 47.90¢
Massachusetts 23.50¢ Massachusetts 47.90¢
North Dakota 23.00¢ North Dakota 47.40¢
Arkansas 22.80¢ Arkansas 47.20¢
Alabama 22.46¢ Alabama 46.86¢
Delaware 22.00¢ Delaware 46.40¢
Mississippi 21.40¢ Mississippi 45.80¢
New Mexico 21.02¢ New Mexico 45.42¢
Colorado 20.51¢ Colorado 44.91¢
Louisiana 20.13¢ Louisiana 44.53¢
Texas 20.03¢ Texas 44.43¢
New Hampshire 19.50¢ New Hampshire 43.91¢
Tennessee 18.40¢ Tennessee 42.80¢
Missouri 17.80¢ Missouri 42.20¢
New Jersey 17.50¢ New Jersey 41.90¢
South Carolina 16.75¢ South Carolina 41.15¢
Oklahoma 14.00¢ Oklahoma 38.40¢
Wyoming 14.00¢ Wyoming 38.40¢
Alaska 8.00¢ Alaska 32.40¢

* Rank-ordered based on the sum of tax rates shown in Table C, columns C2, C4, C5, and C6.
T Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table C, column C7.
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